News & Stories

BGCBigs & Fund Development Manager, Danisha Bhaloo-Shivji, Bring Home United Way Red Tie Gala Awards

Category , ,

Mar 18, 2024

On Thursday, March 14th, United Way of the Alberta Capital Region hosted the 2024 Red Tie Gala. Every year, the Awards of Distinction by United Way honor the dedication and empathy of individuals who actively contribute to their beloved community, fostering purposeful and impactful social transformation.

We want to extend our heartfelt congratulations to Danisha Bhaloo-Shivji, BGCBigs’ Fund Development Manager, who received the George Letki Volunteer of the Year Award. This award is presented to an individual who demonstrates unparalleled commitment to United Way’s purpose to build a strong and vibrant community where no one is left behind, is a senior United Way volunteer, and has demonstrated exceptional commitment to United Way for 10 years or more. We’re so proud of you, Danisha! We are in awe of the exceptional work that you do, and we’re grateful for the tireless commitments you make not only to your work at BGCBigs’ but our community as a whole.

BGCBigs is also honoured to have received the Funded Partner Award, which is awarded to the United Way funded partner campaign that showed outstanding commitment, dedication, and creativity in executing their own United Way employee campaign. As an Agency, we want to extend our gratitude to our United Way Workplace Campaign Committee and to all of our BGCBigs staff who donated their time, ideas, heart and money to making our United Way Workplace Campaign a success.

Last but not least, we want to give a big thank you to United Way for being such a dedicated and generous partner. Through the United Way’s continued support, we’re able to continue providing valuable programs and services to thousands of young people and their families.

And congratulations to the United Way, for another incredibly successful year. We’re proud partners—and we look forward to the Red Tie Gala Awards every year; it’s one of our favourite nights of the year!